Ends on April 16, 2018

$30.00 USD, $50.00 USD

The National Translation Award is awarded annually to a literary translator who has made an outstanding contribution to literature in English by masterfully recreating the artistic force of a book of consummate quality. The NTA is the longest-standing prize for a work of literary translation. The NTA is given out in poetry and in prose. Hybrid works and drama are welcome, and may be submitted to either category as determined appropriate by the publisher. 

Publishers are invited to submit translated works of prose published in 2017 using this form.

Recent winners include Richard Wilbur (2008), Norman Shapiro (2009), Alex Zucker (2010), Lisa Rose Bradford (2011), Sinan Antoon (2012), Phillip Boehm (2013), Eugene Ostashevsky and Matvei Yankelevich (2014), Pierre Joris (2015), William Hutchins (2015), Elizabeth Harris (2016), Hilary Kaplan (2016), Esther Allen (2017) and Daniel Borzutzsky (2017). 

The award-winning book and translator for 2018 will be featured at the 41st annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Bloomington, IN from October 31 - November 3, 2018, and receive a $2,500 award. The publisher of the winning book will be asked to send one (1) copy of the title to ALTA.

To be eligible for the 2018 National Translation Award, the translation must be: 

  • from any language into English
  • of a book-length work of fiction, literary non-fiction, drama in prose, or hybrid prose forms
  • published anywhere in the world in 2017

The deadline for nominating books published in 2017 is April 16, 201811:59pm EST

For books chosen by the judges as finalists, publishers will be asked to provide the original-language text; any finalist for which no original-language text is provided will be excluded from further consideration.

Upon completion of the submission, publishers will receive instructions for mailing print copies of submitted titles to those judges who are unable to review electronic submissions. Postmark deadline for mailing printed submissions is April 16, 2018.

The timeline for the 2018 NTA in Prose is
January 8: Submissions open
January 22: Judges announced
April 16: Submissions close
July 16: Longlists announced
September 3: Shortlists announced
November 2: Winners announced at conference

Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.