Ends on April 15, 2019

$50.00 USD, $30.00 USD

The National Translation Award is awarded annually to a literary translator who has made an outstanding contribution to literature in English by masterfully recreating the artistic force of a book of consummate quality. Established in 1998, the NTA is the only prize for a work of literary translation into English to include an evaluation of the source language text. The NTA is given out in poetry and in prose. Hybrid works and drama are welcome, and may be submitted to either category as determined appropriate by the publisher. 

Publishers are invited to submit translated works of poetry published in 2018 using this form.

Recent winners include Richard Wilbur (2008), Norman Shapiro (2009), Alex Zucker (2010), Lisa Rose Bradford (2011), Sinan Antoon (2012), Phillip Boehm (2013), Eugene Ostashevsky and Matvei Yankelevich (2014), Pierre Joris (2015), William Hutchins (2015), Elizabeth Harris (2016), Hilary Kaplan (2016), Esther Allen (2017), Daniel Borzutzsky (2017), Charlotte Mandell (2018), and Katrine Jensen (2018). 

The award-winning book and translator for 2019 will be featured at the 42nd annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Rochester, NY from November 7-10 , 2019, and receive a $2,500 award. The publisher of the winning book will be asked to send one (1) copy of the title to ALTA.

To be eligible for the 2019 National Translation Award, the translation must be:   

  • from any language into English
  • of a book-length work of poetry, prose poetry, or verse drama
  • published anywhere in the world in 2018
  • translated by a U.S. citizen or resident (if a co-translation of no more than four translators, only one translator need be a U.S. citizen or resident)

The deadline for nominating books published in 2018 is April 15, 2019, 11:59pm EST

For books chosen by the judges as finalists, publishers will be asked to provide the original-language text; any finalist for which no original-language text is provided will be excluded from further consideration.

Upon completion of the submission, publishers will receive instructions for mailing print copies of submitted titles to those judges who are unable to review electronic submissions. Postmark deadline for mailing printed submissions is April 16, 2019.

The timeline for the 2019 NTA in Poetry is:
January 23: Submissions open
February 4: Judges announced
April 15: Submissions close
September 3: Longlists announced
October 8: Shortlists announced
November 8: Winners announced at conference

Please direct any questions to Communications and Awards Manager Rachael Daum at rachaeldaum@literarytranslators.org. We look forward to seeing your submissions!