Ends on April 15, 2019

The American Literary Translators Association (ALTA) invites publishers and translators to submit nominations for ALTA's Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize. The Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, which was inaugurated in 2009, recognizes the importance of Asian translation for international literature and promotes the translation of Asian works into English. Stryk was an internationally acclaimed translator of Japanese and Chinese Zen poetry, renowned Zen poet himself, and former professor of English at Northern Illinois University.

The award-winning book and translator for 2019 will be featured at the 42nd annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Rochester, NY from November 7-10, 2019 and receive a $5,000 award. The publisher of the winning book will be asked to send two (2) copies of the title to ALTA.

Recent winners include Red Pine (2010), Charles Egan (2011), Don Mee Choi (2012), Lucas Klein (2013), Jonathan Chaves (2014), Eleanor Goodman (2015), Sawako Nakayasu (2016), Jennifer Feeley (2017), and Bonnie Huie (2018).

To be eligible for the 2019 Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, works must be:

  • book-length translations into English of Asian poetry or prose OR
  • source texts from (but not solely commentaries on) Zen Buddhism
  • translations from Hindi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Thai, Vietnamese, Kannada, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean into English 
  • published in 2018

Submissions will be judged according to the literary significance of the original and the success of the translation in recreating the literary artistry of the original. While the Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize is primarily intended to recognize the translation of contemporary works, re-translations or first-time translations of important older works will also be seriously considered.

The deadline for nominating books published in 2018 is April 15, 2019, 11:59pm EST.

The timeline for the 2019 Lucien Stryk Prize is:
January 23: Submissions open
February 25: Judges announced
April 15: Submissions close
September 30: Shortlist announced
November 8: Winners announced at conference 

 Please direct any questions to Communications and Awards Manager Rachael Daum at rachaeldaum@literarytranslators.org. We look forward to seeing your submissions!