Ends on

$50.00 USD, $30.00 USD

The National Translation Award is awarded annually to a literary translator who has made an outstanding contribution to literature in English by masterfully recreating the artistic force of a book of consummate quality. Established in 1998, the NTA is the only prize for a work of literary translation into English to include an evaluation of the source language text. The NTA is given out in poetry and in prose. Hybrid works and drama are welcome, and may be submitted to either category as determined appropriate by the publisher. Publishers are invited to submit translated works of poetry published in 2019 using this form.

Please note: Only publishers may submit to this award.

Recent winners include Richard Wilbur (2008), Norman Shapiro (2009), Alex Zucker (2010), Lisa Rose Bradford (2011), Sinan Antoon (2012), Phillip Boehm (2013), Eugene Ostashevsky and Matvei Yankelevich (2014), Pierre Joris (2015), William Hutchins (2015), Elizabeth Harris (2016), Hilary Kaplan (2016), Esther Allen (2017), Daniel Borzutzsky (2017), Charlotte Mandell (2018), Katrine Jensen (2018), Karen Emmerich (2019), and Bill Johnston (2019). 

The award-winning book and translator for 2020 will be featured at the 43rd annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Tucson, AZ from November 11-14 , 2020, and receive a $2,500 award. The publisher of the winning book will be asked to send one (1) copy of the title to ALTA.
To be eligible for the 2020 National Translation Award, the translation must be:   

  • from any language into English
  • of a book-length work of poetry, prose poetry, or verse drama (hybrid words welcome) by a single translator or by a team of up to (but not exceeding) four collaborative translators 
  • published anywhere in the world in 2019

The deadline for nominating books published in 2019 is May 4, 2020, 11:59pm PT

For books chosen by the judges for the longlist, publishers will be asked to provide the original-language text; any finalist for which no original-language text is provided will be excluded from further consideration.

Upon completion of the submission, publishers will receive instructions for mailing print copies of submitted titles to those judges who are unable to review electronic submissions. The postmark deadline for mailing printed submissions is May 4, 2020, but due to the situation around COVID-19 we understand that many publishers are utilizing a remote work model at present. If it is possible to send physical copies to our judges by the postmark deadline publishers are encouraged to do so; if not, as soon after as is possible will be acceptable as well. 

We are honored to have Ilya Kaminsky, Lisa Katz, and Farid Matuk as the 2020 National Translation Award in Poetry judges! Learn more about them on our blog

The timeline for the 2020 NTA in Poetry is:
January 13: Submissions open
February 10: Judges announced
May 4: Submissions close
September 2: Longlists announced
September 30: Shortlists announced
November 12: Winners announced at conference

Please direct any questions to Communications and Awards Manager Rachael Daum at rachaeldaum@literarytranslators.org. We look forward to seeing your submissions!

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.