Ends on

The American Literary Translators Association (ALTA) invites publishers and translators to submit nominations for ALTA's Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize. The Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, which was inaugurated in 2009, recognizes the importance of Asian translation for international literature and promotes the translation of Asian works into English. Stryk was an internationally acclaimed translator of Japanese and Chinese Zen poetry, renowned Zen poet himself, and former professor of English at Northern Illinois University.

The award-winning book and translator for 2020 will be featured at the 43rd annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Tucson, AZ from November 11-14, 2020 and receive a $5,000 award. The publisher of the winning book will be asked to send two (2) copies of the title to ALTA.

Recent winners include Red Pine (2010), Charles Egan (2011), Don Mee Choi (2012), Lucas Klein (2013), Jonathan Chaves (2014), Eleanor Goodman (2015), Sawako Nakayasu (2016), Jennifer Feeley (2017), Bonnie Huie (2018), and Don Mee Choi (2019).

To be eligible for the 2020 Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, works must be: 

  •  book-length translations into English of either a) poetry or b) source texts from Zen Buddhism (which must not consist solely of commentaries) 
  • translations from Hindi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Thai, Vietnamese, Kannada, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean into English 
  • published in 2019

Submissions will be judged according to the literary significance of the original and the success of the translation in recreating the literary artistry of the original. While the Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize is primarily intended to recognize the translation of contemporary works, re-translations or first-time translations of important older works will also be seriously considered.

The deadline for nominating books published in 2019 is May 4, 2020, 11:59pm PT. The postmark deadline for mailing printed submissions is May 4, 2020, but due to the situation around COVID-19 we understand that many publishers are utilizing a remote work model at present. If it is possible to send physical copies to our judges by the postmark deadline publishers are encouraged to do so; if not, as soon after as is possible will be acceptable as well.  

We are honored to have Noh Anothai, John Balcom, and E. J. Koh as this year’s Lucien Stryk judges. Find out more about them on our blog

The timeline for the 2020 Lucien Stryk Prize is:
January 13: Submissions open
February 24: Judges announced
May 4: Submissions close
September 16: Shortlist announced
November 12: Winners announced at conference 

Please direct any questions to Communications and Awards Manager Rachael Daum at rachaeldaum@literarytranslators.org. We look forward to seeing your submissions! 

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.