Ends on April 7, 2017

$30.00 USD, $50.00 USD

The National Translation Award is awarded annually to a literary translator who has made an outstanding contribution to literature in English by masterfully recreating the artistic force of a book of consummate quality. The NTA is the longest-standing prize for a work of literary translation. The NTA is given out in poetry and in prose. Hybrid works and drama are welcome, and may be submitted to either category as determined appropriate by the publisher. 

Publishers are invited to submit translated works of prose published in 2016 using this form.

Recent winners include Richard Wilbur (2008), Norman Shapiro (2009), Alex Zucker (2010), Lisa Rose Bradford (2011), Sinan Antoon (2012), Phillip Boehm (2013), Eugene Ostashevsky and Matvei Yankelevich (2014), Pierre Joris (2015), William Hutchins (2015), Hilary Kaplan (2016), and Elizabeth Harris (2016). The award-winning book and translator for 2017 will be featured at the 40th annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Minneapolis, MN from October 5-8, 2017.

To be eligible for the 2017 National Translation Award, the translation must be: 

  • from any language into English
  • of a book-length work of fiction, literary non-fiction, drama in prose, or hybrid prose forms
  • published anywhere in the world in 2016

The deadline for nominating books published in 2016 is April 7, 2017

For books chosen by the judges as finalists, publishers will be asked to provide the original-language text; any finalist for which no original-language text is provided will be excluded from further consideration.

Upon completion of the submission, publishers will receive instructions for mailing print copies of submitted titles to those judges who are unable to review electronic submissions. Postmark deadline for mailing printed submissions is April 17, 2017.

Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.