Ends on April 7, 2017

The American Literary Translators Association (ALTA) invites publishers and translators to submit nominations for ALTA's Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize. The Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, which was inaugurated in 2009, recognizes the importance of Asian translation for international literature and promotes the translation of Asian works into English. Stryk was an internationally acclaimed translator of Japanese and Chinese Zen poetry, renowned Zen poet himself, and former professor of English at Northern Illinois University.

The award-winning book and translator for 2017 will be featured at the 40th annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Minneapolis, MN from October 5-8, 2017 and receive a $5,000 award.

Recent winners include Red Pine (2010), Charles Egan (2011), Don Mee Choi (2012), Lucas Klein (2013), Jonathan Chaves (2014), Eleanor Goodman (2015), and Sawako Nakayasu (2016).

To be eligible for the 2017 Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, works must be: 
  • book-length translations into English of Asian poetry or source texts from (but solely not commentaries on) Zen Buddhism
  • translations from Hindi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean into English 
  • published in 2016

Submissions will be judged according to the literary significance of the original and the success of the translation in recreating the literary artistry of the original. While the Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize is primarily intended to recognize the translation of contemporary works, re-translations or first-time translations of important older works will also be seriously considered.

The deadline for nominating books published in 2016 is April 7, 2017.

Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.